St Peter’s College Law Centre named for former Master, John Barron
30 September 2022
The Master and Fellows of the College recently welcomed back the family of former St Peter’s College Master, Professor John Barron, to mark the freehold purchase for College of the old Probate Office and former Law Centre, and its renaming in honour of Professor Barron.
Professor John Penrose Barron (1934-2008) served as Master of St Peter’s 1991-2003. Prof Barron’s wife, Professor Caroline Barron, their daughters and grandchildren returned to College to mark the occasion of the renaming of the Law Centre in memory of John Barron. Seren and Leo, John and Caroline’s grandchildren, unveiled a plaque in honour of their grandfather and Dr Huw Dorkins spoke warmly, to a small gathering of friends and former colleagues, of Prof Barron’s contribution to the life and work of the College and his enduring legacy in the culture and community of St Peter’s.
When the leasehold on the old Probate Office was purchased in 2000, the classical and poetic name Evnomia Chambers was given to the Law Centre through a generous donation agreed through Prof Barron. The name Evnomia Chambers continues to refer to the law operations and law library within the building. With the purchase of the freehold on the property, made possible through another generous donation, Barron House is now the name given to the whole building. Barron House includes fellows’ offices and the College archives as well as the law library and law reading room. College is delighted to have Prof Barron’s name inscribed on the estate in perpetuity and a plaque inside the building bears the inscription ‘Barron House incorporating Evnomia Chambers’.
To learn more about the history of St Peter’s College, click here.