Purple flowers in front of the chapel doors

Dr Hartmut Mayer appointed Executive Chair of the Europaeum

Dr Hartmut Mayer, Fellow and Tutor in Politics and International Relations at St Peter's, has been appointed Executive Chair and Chair of the Academic Council of the Europaeum, an association of leading European universities with the aim of connecting students in the Humanities and the Social Sciences.

Dr Mayer, who will continue in his post at St Peter's, has been Acting Director of the Europaeum since 2017, and has been teaching politics and international relations at St Peter's since 1998. His main academic interests are general international relations, diplomatic history, German and EU politics, international relations theory, EU-Asia (in particular Japan), European responses to Rising Powers and Comparative Regionalism. He is also Director of the Centre for European Studies at the University of Oxford.  

His main publications include three books: one on EU External Relations, Hartmut Mayer and Henri Vogt, A Responsible Europe? Ethical Foundations of EU External Affairs (2006); one on German-British Relations, Hartmut Mayer and Thomas Bernd Stehling, German-British Relations and 'the Spirit of Cadenabbia', (2005) and most recently a book on EU and Japan, Hartmut Mayer with Paul Bacon and Hidetoshi Nakamura, The European Union and Japan: A New Chapter in Civilian Power Cooperation? (2015). 

Hartmut Mayer commented: “I am deeply honoured that the Trustees, in consultation with the Academic Council, have appointed me as the new Executive Chair of the Europaeum. I thoroughly enjoyed my time as Acting Director and I look forward to contributing to the future success of the Europaeum in a new role. We at the Europaeum all share the conviction that we need to engage more with free and democratic societies in Europe and beyond”.

The Europaeum was created in 1992 as an initiative of the University of Oxford. The member universities join forces and pool knowledge to address contemporary European challenges.

Current member universities are Barcelona (Pompeu Fabra), Berlin (Freie), Bologna, Copenhagen, Geneva (Graduate Institute of International and Development Studies), Helsinki, Kraków (Jagiellonian), Leiden, KU Leuven, Lisbon (Catholic University of Portugal), Luxembourg, Madrid (Complutense), Munich (Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität), Oxford, Paris (Panthéon-Sorbonne), Prague (Karlova), and St Andrews in Scotland.

More information about Hartmut's appointment can be found on the Europaeum website.

Hartmut Mayer